Month: March 2010

  • Do You Think Unique Names Lead to Narcissism?

    It was, oh I don’t know… a few months ago, that I skimmed an article about unique names leading to narcissism. It was a weird sensation, feeling mock pity and incredulous laughter mixed together, but that’s what was left when I finished reading. Honestly? Giving a child a unique name could lay the foundation for a lifelong narcissistic sense of entitlement? Wow!  And here I thought it had something to do with parents over indulging their children. Silly me! 

    Unique names and narcissism have seen similar rising trends lately. Is it really logical to assume they’re linked? Has anyone considered alternate theories?

  • The Luxury of the Stay-At-Home-Mother

    I read this following conversation on a FB status today.

    “Gotta head to work today!”
    “Ugh, me too. I wish I could stay at home with my kids.”
    “Yeah, I just want that luxury. You know, being a stay at home mom and relaxing with my kids all day.”
    “Yeah, those girls are lucky. They don’t have to work.”
    “But they don’t get paid either. Maybe they aren’t so lucky!”

    That’s right folks. I don’t work. I sit around and relax with my little boy all day long and we watch TV, go shopping, go on playdates…it’s all fun and games. ;)

    Somewhere in all of my non-work I have to do the following (daily, weekly) 

  • Calvin

    I saw a familiar face today on my Facebook home page… below the face it read, “Reconnect with him.”

    There was this guy I knew back when I was in high school who was very smart. He was in all of the honors courses and was also part of, and actually enjoyed, the Math & Science Team. He was a very fun and likable nerd/guy. I can’t recall how we met. I’ve tried so hard to remember, but I can’t. All I can remember are the times we ran into each other. Even so, now… I barely remember those times. We would bump into each other occasionally in the cafeteria lunch lines and catch up on how everything’s been in our lives since the previous time we bumped into each other. That’s how our friendship was… we were always catching up on something or another…

    That’s how I knew that he was a genuinely friendly person. He was the most friendly guy I knew in high school. He fit in with every crowd by just being himself. Everyone in school knew him. He had a very likable personality.

    We once went out to get Tapioca at this one place near my house.

  • Do You Regret Your Major?

    Most of my friends and I are liberal arts majors. We spend $37,000 per year indulging in history, art history, literature, philosophy, government and other fascinating “useless” subjects that won’t necessarily lead to a job at Goldman Sachs or the cure for AIDS, but do teach invaluable communication, critical thinking and reading skills.  We also make snarky comebacks that only our intellectual peers could understand. (You don’t like this blog post? Well, Proust would disagree.) Yes, we took it seriously when our high school counselors told us to pursue our dreams.

    However, the reality is a lot less rosy. Continue reading

  • How to Re-Build Your Life: A List

    When everything feels like it is crashing down on you, is that not the perfect time to destroy everything and start fresh? Trying to hold things together, things only get worse. Sometimes we need to suck it up and try to makeover our lives, in every aspect. This is how I plan to do it. 
  • What Is The World Coming To?!

    Tiger Woods, Jesse James, John Edwards, and all the others, all are unfaithful to their spouses. Instead of shame, and feeling bad for their actions…

  • I’ve Shoplifted…Have You?

    My story goes like this: I’m a lower-middle-class individual in a top university. I have a good life here; I’m on partial scholarship with work-study to make up for the latter. My parents do not support me financially, but I have their moral support and that’s all that matters. I also have two sisters in college, and one younger brother going into college soon too. I am involved in sports, clubs, and community service at my school and new community.

    However, with close to no extra money to spend, outings with friends become difficult. Telling them that I don’t have the money, nor do I want tohave to spend such large amounts of money (think constant shopping sprees) becomes embarrassing after a while. It’s not that they don’t know that I have a slight financial problem, but that they don’t know how to fully acknowledge that I am not as socioeconomically advantaged.

     

    My clothes are not as nice as theirs, my books and computer not as new…Though I have never minded, being in such a superficial community (everyone drives some foreign car) is, at times, too much for me. 

  • You don’t love Haiti

    Recently on campus, I’ve being seeing people wearing “I [heart] Haiti” t-shirts.  This really pissed me off for some reason.  I imagine it’s because nobody wearing one of these shirts loves Haiti.  I can tell, because nobody who loved Haiti would wear such a shirt.

  • The Ubiquitous Xanga Mini

    I have come right out to admit that I am a big fan of the xanga mini, and some people might think that’s immature.  Just like with gifts, I enjoy giving them even more then I enjoy getting them, and I think that’s because I feel that the mini just rounds out my visit to someone else’s blog, and maybe even adds something to the comment.  Anyway, it’s usually a nice gesture and (maybe it’s because I’m ‘a damn liberal’) I tend to be one who will opt in favor of the nice gesture more often then not.

    Be that as it may, I believe it is time to deconstruct the ubiquitous xanga mini, because there are a few available minis that I don’t understand at all!

  • Top 10 Things Not To Do In A Relationship

    Having been in a relationship that lasted almost three and a half years, I have learned some of the ins and outs of what one should and shouldn’t do in a relationship.  There were many times when I probably should not have done the things that I did, and times when he should not have done things.  If these things are happening in your relationship… something might be wrong.