March 29, 2010

  • I’ve Shoplifted…Have You?

    My story goes like this: I’m a lower-middle-class individual in a top university. I have a good life here; I’m on partial scholarship with work-study to make up for the latter. My parents do not support me financially, but I have their moral support and that’s all that matters. I also have two sisters in college, and one younger brother going into college soon too. I am involved in sports, clubs, and community service at my school and new community.

    However, with close to no extra money to spend, outings with friends become difficult. Telling them that I don’t have the money, nor do I want tohave to spend such large amounts of money (think constant shopping sprees) becomes embarrassing after a while. It’s not that they don’t know that I have a slight financial problem, but that they don’t know how to fully acknowledge that I am not as socioeconomically advantaged.

     

    My clothes are not as nice as theirs, my books and computer not as new…Though I have never minded, being in such a superficial community (everyone drives some foreign car) is, at times, too much for me. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *