Month: February 2010

  • What Not to Do at the Buffet

    I went out for Chinese tonight, and, while God knows I can’t resist Chinese food, the buffets very nearly turned me off of it. The cooks are fine, the atmosphere is fine, everything is fine, except your fellow diners. Some people almost get as mad as they do during rush hour at the buffet, and others just drop any respect for other people they may previously have had completely.

    These are the most annoying ones.

  • I just want to be seen.

    Have you ever wanted to tell someone everything about you so that they could understand you?

    I feel like that all the time.

    The problem with social situations are that a person can only make their judgments by what they see. A stranger could be friendly and talk to you, but if you aren’t equally as friendly you may be misconstrued as a snob when really you could just be defensive around strangers or extremely introverted. Only you know what is really going on with your reactions to situations and the only way for others to know is to tell them. Speaking realistically, barely anyone does that. The odds that a shy person ignoring you will say, “Sorry, I am too shy to talk to you…” is fairly low.

    Tonight I was in the situation where I ran into one of my male friends that I have only know for a few months at a dance.

  • Teen Pregnancy in the Media

    The other day I caught the Lifetime movie, “The Pregnancy Pact” on TV which is based on a real life story in Gloucester. Watching this movie really made me wonder what goes on in girls’ minds in situations like this. Why would any 15 year old girl in her right mind want to have a child?
  • When Hate Comes to Town

    It never fails. Whenever there’s a relatively peaceful community in which its members generally get along, someone from somewhere, as pictured below, has to come by and sprinkle arsenic into the multicultural stew.

  • Best and worst place to meet guys.

    OK, y’all know I’m a little older then most xangans, so do give me some credit for experience!  I’ve simply lived longer, therefore I have a better idea of certain things.  That does not mean my suggestions are fool proof because if it’s ‘real love’ it will be found anywhere.  If it’s “real love,” that is “love that is really meant to be,” I really don’t think it matters where you are…I think you will recognize “Mr Right,” and that it will be inevitable.  Otherwise, if you’d like to increase your opportunity of meeting available and fun men, here are some suggestions.

  • Ladies, Never Ask Your Ex To ‘Stay Friends’

    Many of us have been there before, that bittersweet moment at the end of a relationship where you know it’s over and there’s basically nothing that can be done to save it. So you mentally prepare yourself to part ways for good, to return to the single life, dust yourself off and go back out on the prowl. 

    And then she says, “But we’ll still be friends.”, and some of that sudden separation anxiety goes away. You start thinking that in some way or another, you’ll still be a significant part of each other’s lives, only you won’t really. In fact, they might be the most hollow words anyone can ever speak.

  • The limits of the known world

    This is not a post about getting old.  It’s about a lot of things, and some of them may bear an uncanny resemblance to growing old, but that is not what this post is about.

    I have always loved maps.  Especially ancient maps.  Ancient cartographers understood something terribly important about the limits of the known world.  They knew that dangerous monsters lurked in the waters just beyond the borders of the known world.

  • Pole Dancing in the Olympics

    There has recently been a groundswell of support to make pole dancing into an officially recognized Olympic Sport. (This is not to be confused with the Pole Dancing Olympics, which already exisits, and is totally awesome!) I guess while watching curling last week, someone from the pole dancing community finally decided enough was enough. After all, pole dancing takes at least one hundred times more skill and athleticism than curling does. Also, it would be a million times more entertaining.

  • What Has Society Done To Our Image?

    I wore a baggy shirt with an elastic bottom, so that the airy fabric of the rest of the shirt hung over the elastic. I happen to think it’s pretty, and fits me well. But a guy friend of mine today told me I shouldn’t wear clothes like this because they make me look like I am getting pregnant, and wearing maternity clothes…

    I was disturbed. He told me that women who were thin like me should wear tight clothes.

  • New & Improved Search!

    We’ve upgraded our search engine to support real time results and remove spammy posts!

    Over the last couple months, an intrepid team of Xanga engineers (led by justin, with help from dan and jon) has completely revamped the search feature … we’ve been testing it for a while, and so now we’re announcing a new and improved Xanga search: