Month: July 2010

  • XangaSecret: Live at the NY Xanga Meet

    I have been meaning to put this new twist to my XangaSecret videos for a while now after seeing this PostSecret video, but just never found the right place and time to try it.  Thankfully, the recent NY Xanga Meet was the perfect place and time to finally shoot the footage for this special edition! 

  • 8 Toys from the 90′s That I Really Miss (and 1 Toy I Don’t)

    I was a kid in the late 80′s/early 90′s, too young for New Kids on the Block, but too old for Barney the Dinosaur. We did spends loads of time playing with Barbie, Legos, and these toys that seemed to have been over in a hot minute shorter than Vanilla Ice’s career. Hey, universe, plaid and ripped jeans have made a comeback; bring back my Super Soaker!

    Tamagotchi’s! Mine never lived that long, but wait! Sometimes the buttons would malfunction, making it impossible for you to remove their, ahem, waste droppings. I swear! (above)

  • Cat Fights and Conversations

    In the subway yesterday, I overheard a group of teenage girls talking amongst each other. They seemed to be having fun talking about people they knew.

    And then one of the girls got off at their stop.

    As soon as she left, the remaining group of girls started trash talking her. And then they went into a tirade, discussing other girls that they “hated”.

    I was shocked at first, but then I remembered high school. 

  • How honest is TOO honest?

    I have found that the older I get, the more honest I become. Most people would consider that to be a good thing, right? Most of the time it is, but sometimes I ask myself after I’ve produced word vomit, “was that too honest?” 

  • A Letter to a Skinny Girl, from a Fat Girl

    Dear (Skinny) Girl,

    I keep seeing posts where girls are boosting up the confidence of heavier, slightly more curvaceous women.  

  • Upgrading your Private Pages

    As promised, we’re starting the final stretch of our upgrades to the new private page!
    The new private page supports personal search, color and header customization, and a unified look – as well as clean up of the Private Messages, Friends Manager, and Profile Pics interfaces.

    A few notes to highlight: 

  • Where’s Waldo?

    Cries of “I found him, I found him!” “Look! It’s Waldo!” and “I FOUND YOU!” echoed throughout the beach and bluff of the St. Joseph Venetian Festival today.

    It all started because I told my dad he ought to dress up as Waldo for Halloween. A few days later I heard my mom say, “Oh. My. Gosh. What in the WORLD?” when the back door opened. He had walked in, empty Amazon box under his arm, wearing the costume.

    There was a time in my life when I would have been mortified to see my dad go out in public like this, but now I think it’s hilarious! I was his Character Assistant and personal photographer for the too-hot-to-be-wearing-long-sleeves-day. One of the vendors gave him a water bottle for free because he didn’t want to see a character from his youth have a heat stroke.

  • People Online Treat You Differently Based on your Profile Picture

    So, as some of you know, I had this idea in my head that people on the internet will treat you in a certain way just by your profile picture. As most of you don’t know (with the exception of shimmerbodycream) I have two other role play sites.

    I role play Uchiha Itachi as CrimsonxIllusion. And, Uchiha Sasuke as CrimsonxBallad. Itachi is a highly refined, generally courteous, and highly perceptive character. Out of habit, when I’m in one of those sites, I instantly shift into that characters general personality. Sasuke, on the other hand, is distant, he is not generally polite, he is mostly as lively as stone.

    So, I started commenting people. 

  • Confessions of a Blogger

    At times, I have thought that people on xanga approach me as a site and not as a person. 

    One of my early experiences of this was when I first started on xanga.  I made a friendship with a person.  We talked on IM and we had a pretty nice friendship.  One day I visited her site and I saw that she wrote a negative post about me.  I was surprised to see what she wrote.

    So I jumped on IM and asked her what the deal was and she told me I was sensitive.  She told me something like, “Everyone writes a negative post about you.”  I was sad at her response and she was one of my first real friendships on xanga so I let it go. 

    It was only a few days later she wrote another negative post about me.  

  • XangaSecret: Volume XI

    Due to popular demand, XangaSecret is back after a 3 months break! 

    For those that are unfamiliar with what this is, it is a video project of mine where I feature Xangan’s secrets (whether related to Xanga or not) in videos.  All secrets are generally given to me anonymously.

    Enjoy the 11th edition of XangaSecret, featuring music by theacematt2 (it’s his birthday today btw.  Go stop by and say hi!):