Month: January 2010

  • Noah Cyrus Launches Children’s Lingerie Line…Seriously?!

    Noah Cyrus, Miley’s 9 year old sister, is launching a line of lingerie for children. It’s called “Ooh! La La Couture” and consists mostly of French maid outfits.

    The first couple of things that popped into my head when I read this.

  • Society Murders the Good People

    Just the other day, on my way back from campus, i noticed something that happens quite regularly on the bus. A man walked in with a bag of groceries and in my perspective, it seemed to be his first time riding the bus. I believe this is his first time because he asked the driver where the bus goes and if he can get to his location taking this specific bus. Nervous and excited upon this magical ghetto ride, he staggered his way down to an open seat where a fellow student sat. Proceeding on taking a seat, the man said “Hey, how are you doing?” to the girl. With this question came a wonderful WTF?! look.

  • going to school to get your MRS.

    When my peers discovered that I actually planned to USE the degree I was paying nearly $30,000 per year to obtain, they were flabbergasted. “But what about your husband?” They’d ask. “It’s the man’s job to make money. A woman shouldn’t work! Who will do the cooking and cleaning? You can’t work while pregnant or when you have children!”

    We actually had discussions in class where the guys talked about how they’d never stay with a woman who wanted to work, and the girls talked about how they would never voice an opinion to their husband or boyfriend: all decisions would be made by the man (whom they hoped to find and marry by their sophomore years). I was ostracized for thinking I had the right to work if I damn well pleased, and some of the comments from other girls were shocking to me. They told me that no man would ever want to be with such an ambitious woman. The worst part is, they really didn’t think they were being insulting; they thought they were really helping me to “see the light”.

  • Well, Now You’re Really Not Getting a Tip…

    A while ago, I wrote about leaving a bad tip—a decision that, although sometimes justified, is always bound to make somebody angry. I experienced such wrath a couple of nights ago.

    I’ll spare you all the gory details, but the meal included two major faux pas on the part of the restaurant: First, the host skipped over our party on the waiting list, which meant we got seated about 15 minutes later than we should have. And second, one person’s plate came out about 10 minutes after everyone else’s. (And it wasn’t extra complicated or anything.)

    We reflected our dissatisfaction in the tip, which wound up being less than 10%. I’ll admit that’s pretty bad, and we might have crossed the line, but that still doesn’t excuse what happened next.

  • Memories of the Space Shuttle Challenger

    Living in Melbourne, Florida during the 80s meant I saw every shuttle launch. We lived a short 45 minutes from Cape Canaveral and Kennedy Space Center.

    I remember people pulling over on the road or teachers rushing us outside to watch the launches.

    I remember teachers holding portable radios or TV broadcasts being interrupted for the countdowns.

    I remember excitedly yelling countdowns with my classmates, and exclaiming as the fiery comet rose into the sky.

    I remember the windows rattling from the sonic booms and the rumble of the rocket engines.

    The day the Challenger blew up started as a good day.

  • Disney morals suck

    There are three main themes in Disney movies: 1) Beauty.  Beauty in Disney movies is treated with extremely high regard.   A character who is beautiful or handsome can always be relied upon to be good, and the ugly are just as certainly working against you.   The only occasional exception is for the odd, usually overweight father figures, but even they are plain at best, never hideous.

    Not only is beauty an indicator of how good you are, it’s also extremely valuable.   Ugly, evil characters are envious of the beauty of our heroes and try to steal it.   Once our naive princess walks directly into the trap anyone else could have seen coming a mile away, it is her beauty that eventually saves her, usually by attracting a strong strapping male figure.   The prince falls in love instantly, occasionally while the princess is unconscious, clearly indicating that her personality is not a contributing factor.

    2) Good & Evil

  • I’m Talking about Profile Pic Deception

    Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. The photo that prompts random strangers to click on your profile like a hook with a tasty bait. The photo that gets them interested enough to strike a conversation. I’m referring to any dating site and social networking site.
  • iPad: Seriously?

    OK Apple, you’ve managed to come up with some pretty ridiculous products in the past. Everything from the iPod shuffle to the Newton were flops, for good reason. In most recent times, the iPod Shuffle and the MacBook Air I thought were kinda ridiculous. Hell, my 4-year-old MacBook has more horsepower than a brand new MacBook Air.

    You see, Apple, I love your computers, your software, and your operating system. The security, ease of use, and eye candy just can’t be beat. That said, the iPad? You have got to be kidding me. What are you aiming for? An oversized iPhone/iTouch or an undersized MacBook?

  • Apron Strings: The Ties That Bind

    I’ve been reading the book If Its Not One Thing, It’s Your Mother by Anita Renfroe. It’s about having a mother and being a mother; having a daughter and being a daughter. It’s really amazing how somebody can write something that’s so glaringly obvious in such a way that it makes you think a little more deeply about it. What set me off on a mental ramble was the observation that children begin their existence as close to their mother as humanly possible, then spend the rest of their lives trying to get away from her. First through birth, then through a series of crawling, walking, running, school bus riding, driving, college going escape attempts. The umbilical cord is quickly replaced with figurative apron strings that keep our children tied to us tightly when they’re young and, ideally, loosen and stretch as they grow into adulthood. 

    My daughter has been systematically unraveling the apron strings for the past six-and-a-half years.

  • Double Standard: Women DON’T Want The “Heavy” Guy

    Women are always saying that we should be loved and respected no matter what our body size is, be it a size 6 or 16. Yet, that same idea doesn’t apply to men. I’m not talking about a little pudge, I’m talking about very heavy.

    I am “full figured” for my height (take that comment for whatever it means). I, however, don’t want a heavy guy. Is it hypocritical?